Wishing Bruce Jenner the Best.

“For all intents and purposes I’m a woman,” Bruce Jenner told Diane Sawyer last night in a televised interview. “I look at it this way – Bruce always telling a lie. He’s lived a lie his whole life about who he is. And I can’t do that any longer. My brain is much more female than it is male. It’s hard for people to understand that, but that’s what my soul is.” she said.

 

I’ve never seen Keeping Up With the Kardashian’s, but I have seen the insensitive tabloid covers about Bruce that have been going on for years, getting increasingly nasty in the last few months.

Those magazines are trash.

“Bizarre.” “Shocking.” These magazines are trash.

I understand she’s a celebrity. But this all stems from society just having to know, “Is Bruce a man or a woman?” as if these two black and white options are all that’s available. Transition is a deeply personal thing, and everyone’s journey is unique. Bruce spoke very openly and sincere. I just hope she did so because she wanted to, not because she felt media pressure to. Bruce had Ms.Sawyer use the pronoun “he” for the interview but is identifying as completely female.

Bruce didn’t talk about what she will change her name to. She didn’t talk about surgeries she will undergo. She didn’t allow herself to be shown dressed as a woman. Bruce explained her feminity did not have to be shown in sexuality or clothing, because it is in her soul. “I am saying goodbye to people’s perception of me and who I am,” she said. “I’m not saying goodbye to me because this has always been me.”

“I hope I’m going to be OK. I feel that I’m going to be OK. 2015 is going to be quite a ride. Quite a ride.” she said. With family members tweeting support after the interview and a large percentage of the public sending their well wishes, I think you’re going to be okay too, Bruce.

Leave a Reply

