Food & Feminism

When I was a little girl, watching my mother cook was like watching magic. Seeing her take seemingly ordinary things and transform them into delicious meals, it was like witchcraft.

Essentially.

Essentially.

I didn’t really cook for myself until I moved out. I quickly realized I didn’t know much about food. After overdosing on ramen noodles, I decided it was time to learn how to really feed myself. I learned to cook- what I didn’t count on was loving it.

I love the creativity- a last minute strike of inspiration can take a recipe from good to amazing. I also have an adorable apron that I will take any excuse to wear.

Isn't it cute?!

Isn’t it cute?!

I never questioned how feminist loving to cook was or wasn’t- it was a necessary part of life. I never realized growing up was there was a reason I never saw my father cooking, he didn’t feel it was his duty. That sort of thing was left to my mother (as was taking care of us and the home). Yeah, they’re not together anymore.

So that left me with the question- Is cooking feminist?

It most certainly can be. In my household, my partner cooks more than I do. Between working full time and juggling classes, my food contributions are usually thrown in the crockpot at the crack of dawn before I jet off. But Ryan is a damn good cook, and loves to have something in the oven when I get home.

Eggplant parmesan? Yes please! Just ignore that Jack Daniels bottle...

Eggplant parmesan? Yes please! Just ignore that Jack Daniels bottle…

But best of all is when we cook together. Being in the kitchen is even more enjoyable with someone you love, plus it’s way more efficient. A relationship can only thrive if you work as a team (and it’s just more fun that way!).

A great thing about making food too is that the process is filled with mistakes, trial and errors. I remember one time trying to make these fancy apple-ring pancake things I saw on Pinterest, and they came out so awful. I had my brother try one and he couldn’t even pretend to like it. His only question for me was, “How did you manage to ruin a pancake?”

Woops.

Cooking can be like  lot of instances in life- things don’t go exactly as planned, and sometimes you’ve got to improvise.

I think cooking can be a very spiritual thing. Concocting delicious experiments? It’s therapeutic, you’re literally nourishing yourself and the people you care for. There’s no shame in loving to cook, and no shame in hating it! As long as you’re doing what makes you happy, then that’s all that matters. Want to make a four course meal Martha Stewart would be jealous of? Awesome. Is ordering takeout and putting it on a plate your version of fancy? Get it, girl. But I recommend at least once pulling out a spell book and cooking up some witchcraft of your own.

Leave a Reply

